A Trip Without the Kiddos: A writer’s first couple’s vacation far away & a babysitting adventure for the in-laws Part 1!

My husband and I have been away two times, a total of 3 nights, since our first daughter was born in 2009. I mention this not to complain or whine about the lack of time away from our girls; no, I am merely highlighting it for each reader to somewhat understand why I was such a basket case leading up to our trip out of the country.

This one trip will be longer than the two trips combined in the last eight years. Yes, I’ve flown across the country to Cali and Las Vegas, and my husband has taken work trips, but this time we were leaving together and enlisted the aid of two amazing grandparents. Was I excited when my hubby surprised me with a trip to the Bahamas? Um, yeah! But when the week started to close in, and we realized how unprepared we were to leave the girls for this amount of time and distance, the mental hang-ups took over.

Here’s a little more background. Our first trip away was for two nights, one night the girls were already asleep when we snuck away, and we were only an hour away. The second trip was two hours away (oh boy) and only for one night. So, we are way out of practice, and we don’t have family close by to whisk away on a whim. We also have a little 5-year old teeny tyrant, which made for quite a bit of stress and worry about how she’d behave for her grandparents.

I like to travel, my husband hates to fly, and we love to explore around Coastal VA since there’s so much to do nearby and neither of us is from the area. Our other little trips had been perfect. This time, we were actually “getting away.” Yes, our trip was super quick (about 3 hours each way), it’s not as if we crossed the pond or took a day to fly to Australia, but it was a big deal for us. Even packing became daunting. All I could think about was how far I was going to be away from the girls, that my husband wouldn’t be home either, and what about the crazy farm we have with a huge labradoodle, our 13-year-old rescue, and mini-panther cat that will cling to my in-laws window screen begging to be let in. I mean it’s crazy enough when we’re all there, and now we were taking ourselves out of the picture.

Our youngest (see tiny tyrant mentioned above) is the wild card. She finds danger, a hint of trouble, and she doesn’t do well with change, or restaurants really. She’s what you call a “strong-willed” child, and the will is strong with that one. My other daughter is a pleaser, she loves to help, and we had no worries about her, or about my in-laws. It was the teensy emergency room heat-seeking missile I concerned about, and yes, that is all my issue for sure! So, as every sane mother would do, I begged her not to sniff out and find trouble, to not touch, climb on, or do this or that. My oldest insisted she’d watch over her as well, but that made me feel even guiltier. I struggled; I may have needed a Xanax, to be honest. I couldn’t even show my husband how thankful and excited I was because I was terrified about the what if’s while we were gone.

One night my husband brought two brandy glasses with a small amount of whiskey in them for us to drink down after dealing with my panicking nature for a couple of days. Yes it helped, for that day, and then the other days came, and we have to review our wills, leaving emergency medical consent, get friends as a back-up, and on and on. At one point the hubby said, “this is the last time I’ll plan something like this.” That just made me sad, and I want to smack myself out of it like the lady freaking the hell out in Airplane. This was a couples vacation, a chance to explore a new place I’ve never experienced before. It’s going to be an adventure for us as a couple, and a retreat for me as a writer. I was thrilled to reconnect with him, to be inspired for my writing, to research for my new books and this very blog. Little did I know my first blog would be all about the panicky mother who feared flying away from her kids to the Bahamas, alongside her awesome husband who is terrified of flying period, what is wrong with us!?!

End of Part 1.

Coming soon, Part 2: We make it to paradise, but what’s happening at home?

Thanks for reading and I’d love to hear your similar stories or comments!

Parker

 

Parker Sinclair
Founder, Owner & Author
Rawlings Books, LLC
http://www.RawlingsBooks.com
Author of Trust: The Alex Conner Chronicles Book One, Truth: The Alex Conner Chronicles Book Two,  Forbidden: An Alex Conner Chronicle Novella (Book 2.5), & Only: The Alex Conner Chronicles Book Three adult urban fantasy/paranormal romance novels, and the YA Epic Fantasy/HEA Romance novel: Eve of the Exceptionals. Check out samples on Amazon, Smashwords, BN, Kobo, & iBooks.

 

Leave a Reply

